District » Cognia External Review

Cognia External Review

AdvancED/Cognia External Review

Accreditation is a voluntary method of quality assurance developed more than 100 years ago by American universities and secondary schools designed primarily to distinguish schools adhering to a set of educational standards. Accreditation ensures a standard of value among credits, courses and grade level placements between schools and universities around the world. It also authenticates the equivalency of diplomas and certificates to other accredited schools and universities.
AdvancED is the parent organization of the North Central Association Commission on Accreditation and School Improvement (NCA CASI) and the SACS CASI. AdvancED is the world’s largest education community, serving more than 30,000 public and private schools and districts across the United States and in more than 70 countries that educate over 16 million students.
As part of this review, the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS CASI) will evaluate the Commerce City School District and its schools on a wide variety of criteria-from teaching and learning to stakeholder communications. Accreditation is a result of how well all the parts of the education system- the district, school, and classroom- work together to meet the needs of students. In preparation for the AdvancED Accreditation Team’s visit, the Commerce City School System and each of its schools will be required to do the following:
• Conduct and analyze stakeholder surveys from parents, students, and staff.
• Analyze and summarize student achievement data from state and local assessments.
• Conduct a self-assessment of the current level of performance in regard to the five AdvancED accreditation standards.
• Develop an executive summary and provide continuous goals/plans.
• Provide evidence that supports the five AdvancED Standards for Quality.
The five AdvancED Standards for Quality are as follows:

• Standard 1: Purpose and Direction
• Standard 2: Governance and Leadership
• Standard 3: Teaching and Assessing for Learning
• Standard 4: Resources and Support Systems
• Standard 5: Using Results for Continuous Improvement